Mango, Mambo, and Murder (A Caribbean Kitchen Mystery #1) by Raquel V. Reyes

Pages: 336

Publisher: Crooked Lane Books

Published: October 12, 2021

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars

Source: NetGalley

Available Formats: Digital, Audio, and Hardcover

My Review: If you know me, you know I am a foodie. Give me a book with a culinary theme and recipes and I am in heaven. Currently I am ready to book a flight to Miami and try the food mentioned in this book. I am drooling reading the recipes.

This was an excellent start to a new series and I am ready for book two pronto. The characters are colorful and fun. The scenery described is beautiful. The food I’ve already mentioned.

There are a lot of Spanish phrases and sentences throughout the book. Most I understand from my limited high school and college Spanish but a few I had to look up. Since I read a NetGalley I am not sure if the final printed book will have a glossary. I would love to listen to the audiobook if one is recorded.

This is set to release in October and I suggest you pre-order now. It is that good.

I received a complimentary copy from the publisher, Crooked Lane Books, through NetGalley. All opinions expressed in the above review are entirely my own.

From NetGalley: Cuban-American cooking show star Miriam Quiñones-Smith becomes a seasoned sleuth in Raquel V. Reyes’s Caribbean Kitchen Mystery debut, a savory treat for fans of Joanne Fluke and Jenn McKinlay.

Food anthropologist Miriam Quiñones-Smith’s move from New York to Coral Shores, Miami, puts her academic career on hold to stay at home with her young son. Adding to her funk is an opinionated mother-in-law and a husband rekindling a friendship with his ex. Gracias to her best friend, Alma, she gets a short-term job as a Caribbean cooking expert on a Spanish-language morning TV show. But when the newly minted star attends a Women’s Club luncheon, a socialite sitting at her table suddenly falls face-first into the chicken salad, never to nibble again.

When a second woman dies soon after, suspicions coalesce around a controversial Cuban herbalist, Dr. Fuentes–especially after the morning show’s host collapses while interviewing him. Detective Pullman is not happy to find Miriam at every turn. After he catches her breaking into the doctor’s apothecary, he enlists her help as eyes and ears to the places he can’t access, namely the Spanish-speaking community and the tawny Coral Shores social scene.

As the ingredients to the deadly scheme begin blending together, Miriam is on the verge of learning how and why the women died. But her snooping may turn out to be a recipe for her own murder.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s